Menu

8 Books You Won't Believe Got Banned

By ElodieMay 15, 2018
Good, important books get banned all the time. It’s dumb, sure, but unfortunately it’s nothing new. For instance, you probably wouldn’t be... More  →
8 Books You Won't Believe Got Banned

Judy Blume Brings the Realness, Has Something to Tell Your Parents

By Janet ManleySeptember 16, 2015
For fans of YA, Judy Blume is our Mufasa in the sky, always there to guide us and give us #realtalk... More  →
Judy Blume Brings the Realness, Has Something to Tell Your Parents

Student's "Rape Culture" Art Piece Banned, Rape Culture Magically Disappears

By Sara JonssonMay 14, 2014
That thing is happening again, where an artist's freedom of expression, their message, the baring of their soul, is censored because it... More  →
Student's "Rape Culture" Art Piece Banned, Rape Culture Magically Disappears

Should "Blurred Lines" Be Banned?

By Kathryn_WilliamsSeptember 23, 2013
Robin Thicke might have had the worst best summer ever. First his single becomes the song of the summer and everyone's all,... More  →
Should "Blurred Lines" Be Banned?

[CENSORED]

By screamingilysoAugust 27, 2013
SOPA, also known as the Stop Internet Piracy Act and House Bill 3261, is a bill proposed by Texas representative Lamar Smith... More  →

Is The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Too Hot For Middle Schoolers?

By kat_rosenfieldAugust 2, 2013
Here at SparkLife headquarters, there are just two things that make us weep with frustration: not being able to get the cap... More  →
Is The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Too Hot For Middle Schoolers?

Oh, That Dirty Dictionary

By kat_rosenfieldJanuary 28, 2010
If you're between the ages of 12 and 20, and you've ever spent time unsupervised in a library, classroom, or other area... More  →
Oh, That Dirty Dictionary

Oh, the Vulgarity: Great Books with Raw Language, Profane Themes, and Poor Grooming Habits

By kat_rosenfieldJune 23, 2009
Students at Chicago’s Antioch High School might want to get an early start on their summer reading this year—'cause one of the... More  →