Search Menu
Menu

Auntie SparkNotes: Is It Wrong to Write Cross-Culturally?

Auntie SparkNotes: Is It Wrong to Write Cross-Culturally?

Kat Rosenfield

Hello, Auntie!

I am an aspiring author who has been writing for forever. I am also a half-white, half-Hispanic girl (who passes as white) who loves world history and international cultures, and I want to travel the world someday. Thus, some of my stories take place in other countries and have multicultural characters.

A friend and I have been having a disagreement because of one story I've been writing lately. Long story short, it's a Romeo and Juliet-type story that takes place at the Indian/Pakistani border where a Muslim Pakistani man falls for a Hindu Indian woman. Also, one of the main characters is an LGBT character that struggles with being LGBT in India. I've been researching the histories behind the two countries and the cultural divides that they have, and I've been working on this story for two months.

My friend told me that it's not my place as me, a person who passes as white, to be writing a story that is so judgmental of two cultures (pointing out the xenophobia, homophobia, and misogyny in both cultures) that have been oppressed for decades by the British and are now dealing with high levels of poverty. She told me that even though I was doing heavy research on both cultures and wasn't just making caricatures of both, it isn't my place to tell a story about a culture I have never lived in or experienced—I would personally have no idea what it's like to be brought up in that culture, and I would be telling the story from the inherent perspective of a Westerner.