Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: What If My Prom Date Expects HND?

Auntie SparkNotes: What If My Prom Date Expects HND?

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie,

Ok so this is probably just me worrying way too much about things (which I often have the tendency to do). But guess what?? IT'S PROM SEASON!!!! The prama is everywhere, dramatic breakups at every corner, and most importantly the constant fear of not getting asked to prom. Now I'm only a sophomore, so I won't be going to prom until next year, and honestly, I could care less if I actually got asked to prom. I'd love going without a date (it would actually be nice to avoid the drama) but what if I actually do get asked?? Let me explain my concerns:

So I'm in an advanced math course (which happens to be a class of all juniors) and for the past couple of weeks all they've been talking about is prom. I absolutely loved to see all these girls dresses and hear about all their plans and the dates and everything, but something has got me concerned. I sit in a corner of all boys (jeez lucky me) and they were talking about prom like everyone else. But specifically about the sexy, sexy part. Now I have absolutely no problem with the HND, I mean have as much HND as you want and as little HND as you want, but it seemed to me that the only reason they asked these girls was because they expected HND at the end of the night. And I mean, if that's what you want to do at the end of the night, that's fine.