Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm In Love With My Friend and I Don't Know What To Do

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm In Love With My Friend and I Don't Know What To Do

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie,

I need help with an issue I have been facing for about 8 months now. At the beginning of the school year (I'm a sophomore in high school), I met this girl and found that we shared many things in common. We soon became great friends and helped each other often. Then, one of my guy friends told me that I became much more nervous around her and thought that I had fallen in love with her. I told him that the only reason I was acting different is because she was my first close female friend.

But when she went to the Homecoming dance with this other guy, I started to feel...disturbed. The next week, she was talking about how much fun she had and I realized that I had fallen for her. I didn't want this guy taking her away. But the rational side of me said, "Quit being ridiculous! Why would she fall for you anyway?" So, I just kept quiet for months on end, keeping my feelings to myself. We have become pretty close by now and I can't tell if she feels the same way about me. I have about as much luck in guessing as your average pebble.

There was also this recent incident where I got an anonymous note. She seemed pretty indifferent about it, and even let me compare her handwriting with the note. But I can't tell you the countless times I caught her looking at me during class. I'm absolutely torn on the inside. She's one of my best friends and I don't want to lose her. But every time I see her, I love her more. She's kinder than anyone I've ever met, is the most understanding when a person is having a problem, and she has that childish innocence that you never see in a person who's handling the same amount of work as the class president. Whenever she looks at me and smiles, I'm reminded a couple seconds later that I need to breathe in order to stay alive.