Skip over navigation

Ask Jono: How to Have a Followup Conversation

Ask Jono: How to Have a Followup Conversation

By Jon_Skindzier

Hey there! I'm of the male species, and before I get to the point, one cool little tribute of info: the condition "Polycephaly" is when an animal (from what I've seen snakes and turtles) has two heads. For example, here is a picture of a two headed turtle.

(The turtle didn't make it all the way to my inbox, possibly because it didn't know what to do with all of its heads, but I will take your word for it.)

Right, so now I shall get to the matter at hand. I'm a sophomore in high school, and for a little back story, I've always been good at making friends, but every time I've always had some sort of link to them, like another friend, or some sort of after school activity. Well, now there's a girl that lets call Siri (sorry Apple). Siri has been here for a while but I never really noticed her until one night we ran into each other and started talking to each other. We didn't necessarily get into anything specific to each other, we just ended up joking and dancing the entire time since said event was a party. So then after that, we said goodbye and went home, but after that party, I really want to get to know her better.

This is where I'm stuck. Now don't get me wrong, I am interested in Siri a little bit, but until I know we have some common interests and get to know her a little bit better, I don't want to dive into anything, as I tried doing this a couple times before and it ended up akin to how jumping into a tank with a very angry and surprised shark would end up. The problem is, I have no idea how to approach her. I work up the courage to go talk to Siri but then when, for example, I see her in the hallway, my brain goes "Error 404: Plan not found" and I just sit there trying to find a way to start up a conversation.

Anyway, thanks for your time.

- From
A very stumped two headed turtle :P