Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: My Stoner Boyfriend Messed With My Cat

Auntie SparkNotes: My Stoner Boyfriend Messed With My Cat

By kat_rosenfield

Hello Auntie Sparknotes:
I think you'll find this problem relatively original (although douchebag boyfriends aren't too terribly new). I am a freshman, and my boyfriend is a sophomore. One day, he came over to my house. I think he had been smoking pot, which annoys me, mostly because he knows I don't like it when he does it, especially when he comes to my house high. After he got there, I left for about 5 minutes to go to the bathroom, and I came back to hear my cat screaming. She was on top of the water cooler (which is thin and tall, maybe around 5'9) and my boyfriend had put her there. My cat is no spring chicken, and if she had tried to jump off she would have gotten hurt. I asked my boyfriend what the f*** he was doing, and he started mumbling about how much cats like heights? It may sound like I am being over sensitive, but that is exactly how my dad acted when I was 13, and now he's in rehab.

My boyfriend is kind of a bad boy, and I do like him, but I like my cat more. I am not the anti-drug police, all that I have asked is that he doesn't be high around me. Please tell me if I am being unreasonable, or if there is anything I can do change my own behavior. I know that I cannot change the behavior of my boyfriend.