Skip over navigation

Ask Jono: I Don't Want To Have a Showmance!

Ask Jono: I Don't Want To Have a Showmance!

By Jon_Skindzier

Dear Jono,

I want to say that this is NOT about a boy, simply because I don't want it to be, but it is. To explain this lifelong struggle in about 30 seconds:

I didn't really communicate with boys until a few years ago because until then they were all stupids who were manufactured out of dirt and noise on a far away planet. But as soon as I got over that, I would fall head over heels for a new one every 5 milliseconds. Now I've been crush-free for almost a year—and a showmance is threatening to occur.

This is my first time being cast in a large romantic role in a play, so having to spend all this time (under the director's instruction) with this super-nice, really adorable guy is really beginning to test my limits. And I CAN'T fall for him, because I know I'll just wind up hurt again when it doesn't work out.

Please...HELP!!

Sincerely,

Still on the wagon/ A die-hard Jono fan

For starters, Sparkler, I'm not too surprised by your shift in behavior. There are only a few basic human impulses, and this is one of the most compelling; as soon as you were like "Wait, it is fun to like boys!" your brain was like :O and decided to start making up for lost time. It's like you spent your life eating bland potato mush and finally ate a cheesecake and now you want to eat all the cheesecakes simultaneously. My point is that I'm not sure sublimating this impulse is a good idea; there's a healthier middle ground between liking zero boys ever and liking all boys at all times. But I'll come back to that.