Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: Am I Just a Serial Monogamist?

Auntie SparkNotes: Am I Just a Serial Monogamist?

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie,
I like being in relationships. I really enjoy them. I'm happy in them, but I'm also happy single, too. I like just chilling with my friends and having a good time without having to worry about pleasing anyone. So, I have a question.

I just broke up with my boyfriend a little over a week ago. There's a couple guys I really, really like, but some people think that I just want to be in a relationship. I don't think it's true, but they do have a point: I have not really been single for long since Sophomore year in high school, and I'm a freshman in college. There was Guy A for three months; six days after that breakup, I dated Guy B for ten months; two weeks after that, I dated Guy C for a month and a half. Then came a four-month break, and then I dated Girl D for three months. After her, I was single for a couple months, and then came Guy E for three-and-a-half.

Now I'm single, and I don't want a relationship right now, but I could see one in a few weeks (preferably after finals). Most of these people, I wasn't all that attached to. The relationships were too short, or there just wasn't a connection. But I felt a connection with Guy B, and he took me forever to get over—and I felt a connection to Girl D, but something catastrophic happened that made me sever all ties.

I have this tendency to see myself with multiple people at once, even though I really only fall for one or two. So, I am attracted to two different boys right now. But do you think I am attracted to them, or that I just want to be attached? I hope it's the former, but reading over this email, it isn't looking good.

Really? I don't know, Sparkler. I think it looks just fine.