Skip over navigation

The S.C.I.E.N.C.E. of Crazy Cheese Dreams: A Journal

The S.C.I.E.N.C.E. of Crazy Cheese Dreams: A Journal

By Kale Bogdanovs

In line with what witches have been crying since Victorian times, a study by the British Cheese Board (not a giant wooden board, as I initially thought) claims that eating cheese really does promote vivid dreaming, and that different cheeses provide different dream experiences. Cheddar, for example, may prompt dreams about celebrities. This sounded like nonsense to me but, as a scientist, I believe in testing theories. So, every night last week, I ate four ounces of a different cheese half an hour before bedtime and kept a dream journal. Here are the results.

Cheddar:

Tried to save money by skipping premium cheddar for Key Foods Extra Sharp. This proved a mistake. I could only dream of D-list celebrities. On the plus side, I have a great new idea for a reality TV show.

Camembert:

Dreamed I was French kissing my crush. More berets and croissants than I would normally go for, but context is everything. "More camembert?" "Oui, Madame!"

American Cheese: