Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm Pro-Choice, He's Not. Should We Still Hook Up?

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm Pro-Choice, He's Not. Should We Still Hook Up?

By kat_rosenfield

Hi Auntie!

I'm facing a dilemma. I'm a freshman in college, and I've recently started going out with a guy who's great in every respect except for one thing that I recently found out about- he's very, very pro-life. Seeing as this is college, things have escalated pretty fast sexually (which I'm happy about), and we've done pretty much everything under the sun except for PIV sex. When I asked him about abortion he said that while he doesn't object to emergency contraception, he's very strongly pro-life. When we discussed this further, he went on to say that hypothetically speaking, if we were to have sex and in the unlikely chance that I were to get pregnant (despite precautions), he would expect me to keep the child and that if I chose to get an abortion he would never speak to me again out of moral outrage. I've never had sex before, and I want my first time to be with someone I'm comfortable with, and while I am comfortable with this guy, I'm not sure if having sex with him when we have such drastically opposing views on abortion is a good idea. He's had sex before (but he's never pressured me into it), and if we were to go ahead and do it I'd be on the pill and he'd use a condom, so the chances of an unwanted pregnancy are really slim. I feel like I'm physically/emotionally mature for sex, so should I go ahead and sleep with him and hope that our precautions are airtight, or should I consider what happens if the shizz hits the fan and I get pregnant, and basically refuse to have sex with him until he changes his mind?

Because nothing says "emotionally mature and ready for sex" like using it as bait when you're having a disagreement with someone, right?

(Hint: WRONG.)