Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm an Odd New Kid; How Do I Make Friends?

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm an Odd New Kid; How Do I Make Friends?

By kat_rosenfield

Hey, Auntie,
At the beginning of this school year, in August, I entered high school as a freshman. I was pretty nervous, because there's something that sets me kinda apart from other typical high schoolers. I went to a two private schools for kindergarten through 8th grade, and this is my first time in public school. I never was really close with a lot of the people from my old school, and I want to meet a lot of people and have friends.

Since school started, my two best friends and I have been hanging at lunch with this group of about 20 friends who all went to the same public middle school in our town. They seem really cool, and I want to be close with them, but many of them still cling pretty tightly to one another. Don't get me wrong, they're still super nice to us, but will there ever be a point where they stop hanging on so much and my friends and I can become close with them? If so, can you give me some advice for making friends? Or do you think HS for them is just going to be middle school part two?

Oooh, ooooooh! Okay, Sparkler, so check this out: you know how totally freaked out you were about being at a new school, meeting new people, and making new friends? That doesn't make you even the teensiest bit unique. Everyone else who's ever gone to high school has experienced that, too—even the kids who arrived there with a pack of their besties-since-kindergarten. It's just that where your fears were of the what-if-I-never-make-any-friends-and-nobody-likes-me variety, those kids all have the heebie-jeebies that the people they've known all their lives will (gasp!) change, and that everything's gonna be (horrors!) different. So, they cling.