Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: My Friend Says I Threw Her Under the Bus

Auntie SparkNotes: My Friend Says I Threw Her Under the Bus

By kat_rosenfield

Hey Auntie,
I am a college freshman. Woohoo! I love college. I love my school, my dorm, my classes, and the people in it. I usually hang out with a group of girls in a different dorm, and I hang with some international guys.

My problem is this: apparently I broke girl code. One of the international guys kind of likes a girl in my circle of friends and he asked me about her. Well, the only thing she ever says about this guy (who she has only spoken to once) is that he is creepy. So I told him that. She found out and she said I threw her under the bus. I don't understand how I threw her under the bus. I was just being truthful and speaking how I always do. And he wanted to know. I do have a verbal filter, but I didn't even think that what I said was wrong or bad.

Auntie, please help me! Help me understand how me telling him the truth put me in the wrong. Is it better to just come flat out and say something or is it written in girl code that you're supposed to skate around the truth? Am I just making mountains out of molehills? I just don't understand.

P.S. The girl upset with me won't really talk to me now. She didn't even have the guts to confront me on the matter, her neighbor told me.

Before we go any further, Sparkler, I'm sorry—and I mean this in the nicest possible way—but I nevertheless have to ask: did you, by any chance, spend the 18 years or so before college living under a very large rock?