Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: I Don't Want To Leave My Sisters With My Abusive Stepfather

Auntie SparkNotes: I Don't Want To Leave My Sisters With My Abusive Stepfather

By kat_rosenfield

Hi Auntie,
I'm in need of some help. I'm a college freshman, and I'm moving out in a couple of weeks. I'm very excited about the whole experience, but I'm also worried. It's not me I'm worried about, it's my two younger sisters. I've always been more of a "mom" to my sisters than our own mother has, looking out for them and whatnot. And now that I'm moving 5 hours away from them, I guess I wonder how they're going to do without me. My stepdad can sometimes be verbally/emotionally abusive (I don't think this could ever escalate into violence though), especially more so with them than me. This doesn't happen all the time, but on the occasions that it does, I get anxiety attacks and sometimes break down crying in private. So in a sense, I'm worried because I won't be able to "protect" them from his yelling/bad influences/etc, and I don't want them to feel like I abandoned them.

So what should I do? I'm too scared to even mention this to my stepdad. I really don't feel comfortable talking with my mother about this, especially given our not-so-close relationship and her staunch loyalty to my stepdad (even when the yelling is directed at her). I can't look out for them like I could if I was living there. Am I worrying too much? Should I just trust that they're going to end up alright like I feel I did (relatively speaking)? Do I need to stop being their mother?

Ugh, you guys. Is it heartbreaking in here, or is it just me?