Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: Do I Have To Tell My Bigoted Mom That I Support Gay Rights?

Auntie SparkNotes: Do I Have To Tell My Bigoted Mom That I Support Gay Rights?

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie Sparknotes,

I have a problem. I live in a small southern town, where being gay isn't always accepted, and where a lot of churches still believe that it is immoral to be homosexual, or to not fit into either the category of straight male or straight female.

I am absolutely positive that this is wrong, but my mom thinks that being gay is a choice, and a sinful, immoral choice. She firmly thinks that gay marriage should not be legal, and that any relationship not between a male and a female is wrong.

This is where things get tricky. I really want to join the Gay Straight Alliance Club at my high school (I'm a freshman), but my mom works at my high school and would find out, and even if she didn't, I feel like it would be wrong to lie to her. I've tried to tell her that I support gay rights, but every time I mention it to her in a calm, rational way, she gets very angry and starts to yell and talk about how we're going to start going to church more and "it says directly in the bible that homosexuality is a sin." I think she thinks that I'm just confused and just need to go to church more and my opinions will be changed. I just feel very ashamed for being a supposed "ally", but not even being able to "come out" to my mom about my beliefs. Pretty much all of my friends and everyone I talk to on a regular basis knows my feelings towards this, except my mom and some other judgmental relatives who treat being gay like a disease or handicap. I guess these are my questions:

1) Is it okay to not be completely open with my mom about this?
2) Is it wrong for me to struggle with just coming out as an ally, when so many people actually have to come out as gay and face way worse discrimination?