Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: My Rolling Backpack Is Humiliating

Auntie SparkNotes: My Rolling Backpack Is Humiliating

By kat_rosenfield

Hey Auntie!!
As a high school student, I seek acceptance. In other words, I want to be cool. Here's the thing: I have tendonitis in my upper back and arms, so carrying a normal bag full of books for school is very unhealthy for me. My dad, therefore, decided that the best course of action to take would be for me to have a rolley backpack.

"It's so irresponsible of me not to have made this happen during earlier years; I have been ruining your back," he says.

OK, thought I, this is perfectly reasonable, as much as I detest rolley backpacks. The worst part is, my father is the biggest cheapskate alive and refuses to go out and buy (and does not allow me to either with my own money) a semi-ordinary looking rolley-backpack that looks like a backpack. Instead, he insists that I use one of the small travel suitcases that we have in the house.

UGH, omg omgomgogmomgomg. First of all, not only are suitcases posing as rolley backpacks desperately uncool, but in my opinion there is nothing more obnoxious-looking than a rolley backpack. Seriously, rolley backpacks just emit an aura of pure repugnance. I do not want to be perceived in that way.

I must have you know, Auntie, that I agree with my dad that a rolley backpack is the wisest thing to do, as much as I seriously don't want to be seen with one. My problem is that I need to get over myself, but I am just so deeply mortified. Help!

Well, for starters, you can take heart: there are actually plenty of things that are infinitely more obnoxious-looking and uncool than a rolley backpack. For instance:

-Face tattoos
-Mullet skirts
-Mullet hair
-Mullet anything
-Shirts that say things like "I'm too pretty to do homework"
-Socks with sandals
-Thong whale-tail
-Literally everything that is happening in this picture