Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: How Can I Tell My Parents I'm Spending The Summer With My BF?

Auntie SparkNotes: How Can I Tell My Parents I'm Spending The Summer With My BF?

By kat_rosenfield

Hi Auntie,

I'm a freshman in college and I'm applying for internships for the summer. My boyfriend is also in college, already has an internship secured and is going to be living in an apartment in New York City with a mutual friend. They want me to find a job in NY as well so I can room with them. I think this sounds positively fun and am hoping it will work out.

The problem is my parents. They don't like the idea of me even going away for a few days with my boyfriend with no adult or college supervision. Right now they're debating whether it's "okay" for me to go on the vacation weekend with him that he got me for my birthday. If I tell them I want to room with my boyfriend and a friend for the entire summer, even if I'm working, they're gonna flip out.

I don't really have a history of fighting with my parents because I'm a total pushover when it comes to them. I offer, they discuss, and if they say no, they respond to my few calm replies with irrational logic, then the rest of my arguments fly out the window and I break down crying, which doesn't help anyone. How can I confront them with this idea and handle it "like a motherfranking adult" and NOT break down crying?

For starters? Realize, first and foremost, that you ARE an adult—motherfranking or otherwise.

And then, realize that adults don't require mommy and daddy's permission as regards their living situation while they spend the summer working an internship in New York City.

Not that this is what you should say to your parents—we'll get to that part in a sec—but because yikes, do you ever need to reframe the way you think about your relationship with them. Repeat after me: You are an adult. You are in college. And your parents' approval, while nice to have, is no longer something you need.