Skip over navigation

The Pros and Cons of Looking Younger Than You Are

The Pros and Cons of Looking Younger Than You Are

By Elodie

There are many cons to being child-sized when you are in fact a teenager. When I tell people I'm a sophomore, generally they'll nod and say, "Oh, okay." I then feel forced to clarify, "In college," and they'll say something along the lines of, "Oh. Wait, really?"

But I’m here to tell you that for every con, there is a pro, and for every pro, there is yet another reason to stand tall (or as tall as you can) and own up to your baby-faced awesomeness.

Con: You will receive a children's menu long after this is acceptable. Your younger sibling, however, will receive an adult menu while they still have baby teeth.

Pro: The children's menu has macaroni and cheese and chicken tenders that are shaped like dinosaurs. I think we know who the winner is here.

Con: You will have to show ID to get into R-rated movies, while your friends will not. You will probably be forced to fish around in your purse for it as everyone in line behind you slowly bands together in hating you because you're slow, and for God's sake, why didn't you just have your ID ready? Why couldn’t you have just resigned yourself to looking prepubescent? Why are you making this difficult?

Pro: You can get into some places at a discount, or even for free. I used to get away with the "kids twelve and under get in free" thing when I was fourteen. Not even on purpose. They just assumed. (The first time, anyway. Then I exploited it, and evil burst forth in human form.)

Con: Your youthful features can be misconstrued as immaturity when you’re not actually all that immature.