Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: Did He Cheat?

Auntie SparkNotes: Did He Cheat?

By kat_rosenfield

AN IMPORTANT NOTE FROM AUNTIE: Pssst, Sparklers! I'll be on vacation starting this weekend and returning Monday, April 8th, so there'll be no columns next week. Stay strong. Be good. Don't set anything on fire.

Hey Auntie!

So straight to the story, I'm a high school sophomore and I've been dating this guy "Derek" for about 4 months.

Our relationship was pretty unexpected, but it's worked out well. We have a ton of fun together and he makes me feel super special. The only spot of major tension is that he always wants to go further sexually. He promises he'll respect my boundaries, but at the same time I usually feel pushed to do things I'd normally say no to because I want to make him happy.

A few days ago, a mutual friend told me that he had "done things" with a freshman girl who's known for her... questionable values, to put it the nice way. I confronted him, and he admitted that she had sent him sexts. He said he thought that was better than pushing me to do things I wasn't comfortable with, and it wasn't cheating because they'd never done anything physical. At that point, I basically screamed at him for a while about how he was a horrible boyfriend/person and told him it was over.

So I guess my problem is what is cheating and what it not? Is he right, cheating has to be physical? I've heard that he thinks I'm overreacting and once I calm down, we'll be a couple again. I think my reaction was justified and I can't even consider getting back together because "once a cheater, always a cheater."

Alright, you guys. Before we get started, I'm going to let you all in on a little secret about the ubiquitous idiom, "Once a cheater, always a cheater."

And that secret is: it's a bunch of horse-dookie.