Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: I Want a Relationship, But He's All About Hookups

Auntie SparkNotes: I Want a Relationship, But He's All About Hookups

By kat_rosenfield

Hi Auntie,

I'm a freshman in college and NBK, but I feel that I am ready for a relationship and I have a major crush on a guy in my friend group. The problem? He's into hookups, not relationships. So are pretty much all the other guys I know!

He is very conscientious about it and makes sure all the girls he sleeps with know that he doesn't want anything serious, and I don't judge him for his actions, but it just makes me sad that he wouldn't want a relationship with anyone, including me (we are friends, but he is unaware that I have a crush on him).

My older sister and some of the upperclassmen I know tell me this is a phase that a lot of freshmen go through, but please tell me if they eventually grow out of it? And should I say anything about my feelings to this guy? And if we even did get together, will he expect me to be willing to have sex right off the bat since so many other girls have done that with him?

For starters, Sparkler, take heart: the fact that none of the guys in your immediate social circle want relationships does not mean that nobody does, or that they never will, or that you'll be doomed to spend your college years in a state of eternal boyfriendless yearning. As dating desires go, college is just like anywhere else: you've got your commitment-phobes, your serial monogamists, your happy couples, your celibate loners, your casual daters, and your people who like to meet up once a month wearing lucha libre costumes and have wild'n'crazy sex in a tub full of pudding in front of an audience of creepy dolls.

...Uh, you know, among others.