Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: How Can I Stop Being a Flirt?

Auntie SparkNotes: How Can I Stop Being a Flirt?

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie,
I'm a sophomore and I have a boyfriend. And I really do like my boyfriend, we were friends for a while before we got together and now we have an almost great relationship... except I think that I am a terrible girlfriend. It's not that I feel like he's too good for me or anything; it's actually what I do, and, well.... the way I act toward other guys.

Someone told me that I'm a flirt. But I never actually thought I was flirting, until I had to ride the bus. I sat with a guy, and we weren't really talking at first, but then we started a conversation and I quickly learned that he was really funny, easy to talk to, get along with, etc. And it became frightfully obvious he was flirting with me (yes, I did tell him I was a taken lady.) At the time, the way I was acting seemed innocent. But by the end of the bus ride, realization kicked in... and between the tickling, teasing, and other displays of affection used by first graders, I felt beyond guilty. Its not like we ate face like savage monkeys right there in the seat, but I feel like this is something I should probably be able to control. And if I saw my boyfriend acting this way toward girls I would drop him like a bad habit (hypocritical, I know.) Please help me with my flirtatious problem! Its not losing my boyfriend that scares me, it's knowing the way I act is wrong. Plus getting called a flirt is only a step away from being called a slut.

And heaven forfend that happen, amirite,?! I mean, if there's one thing we should all strive to achieve, it's total acceptability in the eyes of the sort of troglodyte who thinks that a girl who enjoys flirty things—or, even worse, sexy things—is a delinquent hosebeast who ought to be shamed!

...Said Auntie SparkNotes, as she mimed a gun with her thumb and forefinger and then used it to shoot herself in the face.