Skip over navigation

Why Education has Failed Us

Sparkler Post
Why Education has Failed Us

I admit, I  put up a pretty harsh title. But believe me, I did not pull it out of nowhere. I've recently been analyzing different education systems for a school project, and I have concluded that the american school system (under which I am currently studying) is becoming useless. Why? Because it fails to teach us to think critically, independently, freely. I admit it's a paradox that I'm in the system that I make these claims of, and yet I am doing my best to think critically. Allow me to explain.

Okay, first off, let me start with AP classes. I'm using the phrase "AP Class" as referring to a class at an advanced stage and with students looking to take the AP test, just for clarity. So how are these classes failiures? Well, what do we do in an AP class? I spent an entire year in AP Enlish Literature reading specific books and in each looking for the same elements. Why? Because all of these books were on the list of commonly used for AP tests, and because those factors that I was looking for were the ones that AP tests asked. What my teacher was doing was what you call "teaching to the test", or in other words, teaching specifically the things on the test so that we students would do well on said test.