Skip over navigation

Ask Jono: Getting Dumped, Mysteriously

Ask Jono: Getting Dumped, Mysteriously

By Jon_Skindzier

Dear Jono,

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I've recently discovered SparkLife and started stalking your posts. I find your witty advice and excessive use of italics quite amusing. Keep up the awesome work!

Anyway, my best friend (male, let's call him Bob) and I have been hanging out for about two years now. We've always been really close. I started to develop a crush on him, but I highly doubted that he would ever fall for me, so I never said anything about it. Then one day Bob confessed that he actually DID like me, and has had a major crush on me for the past six or seven months. Then he asked me out, so he basically eliminated the whole flirting stage and saved us all a lot of potential awkwardness.

Since Bob and I have been friends for so long, I already know all the general stuff about him. So during our relationship, I started asking him more deep, meaningful stuff so I could learn more about him on a personal level. Then, about two months into the relationship, he broke up with me. He claimed that I "wasn't fun anymore." And on top of that, he's starting to avoid me, because I think he's afraid of me confronting him about it.

Okay, I seriously don't understand; I assumed that generally most people enjoy being questioned a bit, because it lets their SO know that they're interested in them. Was I not supposed to ask any of that stuff? Should I confront him about it? And why do guys run away from relationships as soon as the girl gets all touchy-feely? Am I in the wrong here or is he being a jerkface?