Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: I Feel Uncomfortable At Parties

Auntie SparkNotes: I Feel Uncomfortable At Parties

By kat_rosenfield

Hi Auntie SparkNotes!

I'm a freshman at college, I love school and everything's great. Except this one problem: I don't like to party.

My school, while it's not a "party school", is very liberal and has a lot of parties that go on during the weekend and week. I went to a few parties earlier in the semester, tried drinking at one, and realized it just wasn't for me. I tried to go to a few other ones (sober this time) but at these parties, I felt uncomfortable and didn't really have much fun at all. I don't think I have a problem with other people drinking. I'm in a lot of different friend circles, some that drink (including the guy that I'm dating) and some that don't. I'm okay with all of this, but then I should feel okay at parties where others are drinking, right? Why do I feel the way that I did? All the parties that I was at I went with a few friends, never alone, but I felt like I was the only one not drinking. Nobody was trying to force me to drink, but I just didn't have that much fun. I dread my boyfriend or one of my friends asking me to go to a party because I don't want to be "the awkward one", but I want to be able to go when other people are drinking without feeling uncomfortable and have fun! I'm a very social person and I do a lot of fun things with my friends so I think it's weird that I don't want to go to parties! Auntie, what do I do?

Well, okay. This might sound crazy, darling, but just hear me out:

Have you, by any chance, considered the totally off-the-wall possibility that you just aren't really a party person?