Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm On an Anti-Fungal Diet; How Do I Tell People?

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm On an Anti-Fungal Diet; How Do I Tell People?

By kat_rosenfield

Hello Auntie,

My problem is concerning special diets and dealing with people. I've been eating gluten free by necessity for four years, and for the most part, people have stopped being weird about it. However, because I'm still super prone to yeast infections and have what is basically jock itch on one of my breasts, my doctor is having me follow the Candida diet, which allows me to eat meat and veggies and not much else. For three months. I'm THRILLED (not).

I guess my question is, how do I tell people about this in social settings? I know that it's my own personal business and I'm not obligated to tell anyone, but people get very curious and confused when I go to a party or gathering and say I can't drink or eat any of the food. I'm looking for a better way than saying "I can't eat any sugar or starch" and then answering the inevitable whys with, "I have boob fungus." I also have a hard time if I tell people I'm on a diet, because I'm really tiny already, I know I'm going to lose a little more weight in the next few months due to the diet, and I don't need people thinking I'm a closet anorexic.

But... but... but how can you possibly not want to take advantage of this incredible, historic opportunity to use the words "boob fungus" in casual conversation? I mean, that's a party-starter of a phrase if I ever heard one. In the time it's taken you to read this, someone has probably already claimed it as a tumblr username. THAT'S HOW COOL IT IS.

But if you really want an explanation that doesn't include the words "boob fungus" (although once again, I cannot imagine why you would! Because boob fungus! Hahahaha!), then feel free to use one or all of the following replies when people ask why you aren't eating.

THE TRUTH