Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: Is It Okay To Be FWB?

Auntie SparkNotes: Is It Okay To Be FWB?

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie,

I'm a sophomore in high school and I've had one serious relationship and few very quick flings with some boys.

Whenever I have had a relationship with a guy, we have always been boyfriend-girlfriend. Always. Never had a one night stand or a uncommitted relationship. Well, recently one of my long-time guy friends has decide to ask me to be his friend with some limited benefits, i.e. making out, groping, but no HND, at least not in the near future. And I really want to say yes (he is awesome at all of that stuff, super cute and muscly, and hey, I deserve some fun after my last few failed relationships) but I also kind of want to say no. I'm worried that my friends, who are all guys (I don't work well with other girls after some backstabbing and clique issues a few years back) will find out and judge me for it even though they have had their share of non-committed relationships and friends-with-benefits things. I also feel like I am doing something wrong for not being committed. So I have three questions.

1. Is it okay to have friends with benefits in high school?
2. Is it okay to want to have one?
3. Should I worry if my friends will judge me?

Well, for starters, I'll tell you one thing right now: if wanting to make out like a wild beast with a muscle-bound hottie is wrong, I, for one, do not want to be right.