Skip over navigation

Writing Advice: Story Openings

Sparkler Post
Writing Advice: Story Openings

I read. A lot. (Actually, it's pretty much a given with all the Sparklers, right?) Anyways, reading plenty of books is a healthy way to improve one's writing habits. And while I can hardly claim I'm a good writer, I can make a presumptuous list about what constitutes a bad or good story opening. (Reading also benefits one's grammar and spelling. However, I still can't decide if I just spelt presumptuous correctly and I'm too lazy to bring up the dictionary right now. 

Getting back on topic, here's my list, with the worst openings first and the best openings last: (Oh, and before you continue, I apologize if I blast one of your writing techniques. To each his own and all that.)

Bad stories tend to open with the following:

-With a piece of dialogue. Seriously. Any story opening with, “Hey, Lucy, get in here!” or “No, dude, weasels ALWAYS beat ferrets.” is a bit tacky. Actually, very tacky. It works in movies, but in a movie, you’ve already taken in the visual stuff. Your brain is set for whatever the movie is about and you can take a piece of dialogue. In a book you have no idea what’s going on when someone just throws out a spoken sentence. You don’t know who it is. It’s like getting a call from a stranger. 99 times out of 100 it’s just plain creepy.