Skip over navigation

Ask Jono: Dating Someone Who's About To Graduate

Ask Jono: Dating Someone Who's About To Graduate

By Jon_Skindzier

Hey Jono, (How do you pronounce that??)

Anyway, I'm on my school's coed varsity swim team. As expected in a sport where guys are half naked all the time, I have a blooming crush on one of the guys. He is only two years older than me, super funny, super cute, and I've caught him looking at me directly a few times (not exactly staring). Now here is the problem, I am a freshman, and he is a graduating early junior. I'm afraid if I approach him I will end up in a doomed relationship when he graduates. Also I have no idea how to talk to someone. (We were in the same lane once and I got so nervous I couldn't talk, which almost never happens even around guys I've had crushes on.)

Should I go after him? Or watch him from afar over 13 hours a week at practices and events. Anyway thanks for your column, it's so funny that I choke on water sometimes while reading or remembering past comments.

(It's Jon and then O. Like "Oh, Jon," but in reverse.)

Normally, when I'm not positive how to answer something, I consult a random sampling of humans who are more responsible than I am (pants-wearing, real jobs, etc.) just to be sure my advice isn't so incredibly bad that it will hospitalize you. But this time, everyone had conflicting opinions or no opinions, so what you're getting is advice that comes entirely from my own stupid head. I'm flying without a net here. I'll try not to advise you to to eat a battery or something.