Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: My Boyfriend Says I Can't Crush On Celebrities

Auntie SparkNotes: My Boyfriend Says I Can't Crush On Celebrities

By kat_rosenfield

Hi Auntie.
I am a 19 year old sophomore in college, and I’m having a bit of trouble with my boyfriend. We’ve been dating for basically a year now. He loves me completely, and is interested and attracted to only me. He feels that this is the way that relationships work, and I once upset him when I said “Mmmm” at someone's mention of a certain very good-looking celebrity.

Being attracted to anyone that’s not him is a big no-no, because that means I want to do the HND with them, apparently. And crushes are okay, but only if it just means thinking the person is cute, and doesn’t mean wanting to be with them, or anything physical. This includes celebrity crushes. He doesn’t want me to react to anyone else, because he wants to be the only one I get weak-kneed over.

I don’t usually get crushes on other people, but sometimes I do develop them. And at times I don’t know whether it’s just chemical or not. I know in my heart and in my head that my boyfriend is the only one for me. I love him whole-heartedly. But is it wrong for me to fantasize about someone who isn’t him? Even if that so-called someone isn’t even available, like a celebrity? Is he being jealous, or is it warranted that he feels this way?

Ughhhhhhhhhhhhh.

And I'm not just saying that because I'm still getting over the flu someone gave me for Christmas, either.

And at the risk of stating the obvious: no, there's nothing "warranted" about your boyfriend playing Thought Police with the contents of your fantasy life. Even in a relationship, you still retain sole and total ownership over the stuff inside your head. Your thoughts, your feelings, your opinions and interests and attractions: these are yours to have, and nobody else's to regulate.