Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: Should I Room With My College Crush?

Auntie SparkNotes: Should I Room With My College Crush?

By kat_rosenfield

Hi Auntie,

This is my first year in college, and many people are already signing leases to live in off-campus apartments next year. A friend asked me if I wanted to live with her and a couple of guy friends, and surprisingly my parents agreed to the arrangement. The problem? I have a major crush on one of the guys - I'll call him Jack.

Even though we hang out sometimes, I feel like he's okay with rooming with me only because he thinks of me as strictly a friend, and now that boundary will be set in stone. And even if by some small chance something did happen between us, I know things could get awkward really fast. However, I know Jack would be a good roommate because he is very smart, motivated, and a genuinely nice person. I think we would all have a lot of fun together. I'm just terrified that my crush on him won't go away and I'll have to watch him with other girls all year in my silent misery. Did I just ruin my chances of anything ever happening between us? Is this just setting myself up for being hurt? Could there be a silver lining in my situation?

Well, for one, I can't think of a better way to kill the mystery and magic of a nascent crush than by sharing a living space with the object of your affections. Seriously, if you want to get over a guy, there's nothing that'll torpedo your infatuation quite like finding out firsthand that he pees on the toilet seat, blows his nose on his socks, changes his sheets maybe once per semester, and blithely leaves rogue pubic hairs all over the shower walls.

And if you still find him impossibly attractive after a year of living in close quarters, then congratulations, it's love.