Skip over navigation

Faye's Study Guide for... Studying

Faye's Study Guide for... Studying

By Faye

Should Faye End Her Relationship with Ash?” Goodness, when I saw that title I screamed "no" too! I guess I scared a few people (myself included) with the ponderings of my mind, but rest assured that I have no immediate plans to break up with my boyfriend.

Speaking of which, do you want to guess where Ash was this weekend? Why, at a Pokemon competition, of course. I’m dating a huge nerd…

And I think everyone knows what girlfriends do when their boyfriends are out of town, am I right? Oh yeah: study like an animal. But seriously, I have 3 exams this week, so I thought I’d share  my super-fun awesome study tips for studying with you.

Faye’s Study Guide for Studying...

• You don’t need to study for everything equally. As a silly little freshman, I thought that I needed to spend the same amount of study time on every subject. But if you feel pretty confident about chemistry and are freaking out over physics, then spend more time studying physics, you silly freshman, you.
  • But that doesn’t mean you should blow off studying for something completely. Even if you know your chemistry book by heart, you should still look over your notes; you might find something you overlooked. There’s such a thing as being overconfident and then under-performing on an exam.
  • Words from your professor’s mouth are like study manna from exam heaven. Your professor writes the exam. So anything your professor says regarding the exam is crucially important. If your professor says, “You might want to look over the derivation in chapter 3,” then KNOW the derivation in chapter 3, because I’m betting that’s on the exam.
  • Practice exams are golden. If your professor posts practice exams (or even better, previous year’s exams), it is in your best interest to do them. It’s the best way to get used to your professor’s testing style, and sometimes, they re-use questions!