Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm Afraid I'm Going To Experiment With Drugs

Auntie SparkNotes: I'm Afraid I'm Going To Experiment With Drugs

By kat_rosenfield

Hi Auntie,
I have a new friend in school who I'll call Taylor. Taylor likes to party and "have fun". And when I say "have fun", I mean drink, smoke, experiment, etc. I'm a good student. I get straight A's, I play three sports, and I take music lessons every week. But lately, Taylor has been inviting me to go to parties with her or just to hang out with her, and most of the time I agree and come out to meet her and whoever else she is.

Taylor convinced me to try smoking a few weeks ago and I think I might be addicted. I don't live in the United States anymore — I live in a place where people don't care what you do based on your age — so I'm 16 and people wouldn't give a second thought if they saw me smoking while walking on the sidewalk at 2PM, or they wouldn't ask me for ID if I brought a bottle of beer to the cashier to pay. I'm usually buying packs of cigarettes and subconsciously planning ways for me to smoke in my room without getting caught. I'm also easily persuaded, and I'm afraid Taylor might ask me to try some of the hardcore drugs with her, and that I might experiment and (god forbid) like it.

I don't know who to talk to — I can't speak the language of the country I'm in — and I can't talk to my parents because they will kill me. I just don't know what to do, and I think I need help before it gets any worse.