Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: Someone Made Fun of My Underwear

Auntie SparkNotes: Someone Made Fun of My Underwear

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie Sparknotes,

I have a bit of a fluffy, embarrassing question, but here it goes. This weekend, my rather conservative mom finally let me buy a thong (well, technically it was free from Victoria Secret, but that's beside the point). I wore it to school on Monday feeling confident and sexy, but when I got up from my lunch table to throw away my trash, a boy who I've never met yelled at me from another table "Hey, do you have a wedgie?" and all his friends started laughing.

I know for a fact that when I stood up I didn't do anything weird with my jean shorts or anything, I just fixed my shirt. Immediately after he said this I felt humiliated and self-conscious instead of confident. So my question is, can boys tell what kind of underwear you're wearing? Are they supposed to notice? Is this the attention that I'm supposed to receive by wearing a thong? Or was it just a stupid, immature boy making fun of someone for the enjoyment of his friends?

Let's start with your first question: can boys tell what kind of underwear you're wearing?

Yes. Yes, they can.

In fact, all human boys are equipped from the age of twelve with Extra-Sensory Underpants Radar, which they can use to discern the precise cut, color, and size of the underthings on any given girl, effective at distances up to 50 yards.

And girls, of course, are equipped with a similar radar, wherein they can look at any guy and know immediately how big his penis is.

...Is an example of two complete lies I might tell for my own amusement because I enjoy causing chaos on the internet. Wheee! FUN!