Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: My Parents Don't Think I'm Ready for College

Auntie SparkNotes: My Parents Don't Think I'm Ready for College

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie Sparknotes,

I graduated from high school in the spring of 2012. Like every young graduate, I was excited for the day I could go off to college and gain both worldly wisdom and independence. Alas, I did not. I was in an accident during my senior year that caused me to become depressed and isolated. I missed a lot of school, and even though I managed to graduate in the top 15% with a handful of academic awards and a GPA greater than 4.0, My parents decided that I was not ready for college and that I should take a semester or two off.

I gotta say, Auntie, I hate not being in college.

I have a job so at least I'm doing something, but I feel like such a loser! I still live in my parents' house, I do literally nothing whenever I'm not working, and I can't help but feel depressed. Whenever I get on Facebook I see all my friends posting pictures and statuses about campus life and other college business. I try and text some of them but they're too busy to keep in touch, and I've become kind of a Debbie Downer since all I can do is complain about how I'm not in school. I know it's only for a short while, but I'm afraid that I'll never be able to leave my house and go off on my own! And I do NOT want to be the 28 year old who still lives their parents.

It seems like the simple solution would be to talk to my parents into letting me go, but they're not buying it. Trust me, I've tried. They don't believe I can handle it. It seems completely unfair that I have no choice in the matter, just because they will be the ones paying for my education, and I hate feeling like everyone is moving forward with their lives except me. I'm also worried that this break is going to make it harder for me to get into college later. Is there anything I can do, or do I just have to suck it up and deal with it?