Skip over navigation

The 5 Teachers You'll Meet This Year

The 5 Teachers You'll Meet This Year

By Josh Sorokach

Back in my hometown, our high school classes lasted 44 minutes each. If the average school year is nine months long, excluding weekends and holidays, that adds up to approximately… probably a lot. I'm not good at math. Or the game Battleship. Anyway, here’s a list of five teachers you may encounter this year.

The Mentor:

According to the Back To School Trend Report, "big fat knitwear" is in, which is why I just bought 17 pairs of chunky wool pants. Another hot back-to-school trend? Mentors. The ideal mentor is inspirational, wise, and has a phenomenal head of hair—which is why I chose Captain Jack Sparrow as my mentor. Unfortunately, he never texted me back;  perhaps because I wasn't fully ready for a mentor, or perhaps because he's a fictional pirate. There's really no way to know for sure.

Boring Teacher:

Like that famous song that’s yet to be written says, “Boring People Be Boring, Yo.” It’s not their fault. I'm sure they possess many affable qualities too, like acute Sudoku acumen or constructing large ships in tiny bottles—everybody's got their something. When you inevitably fall asleep during one of Yawn McSnoozes long-winded lectures about magnets or pigeons, please dream of a life where something called “Taylor Swift Tater Tot Tuesdays” exists in your local cafeteria.

The Old Guy with That Mustache:

Look, let's get one thing straight. I'm not saying every old guy who has a mustache looks like a walrus. Then again:

If you toss some glasses on that bad boy and he starts talking about The Spanish Inquisition, you've got a dead ringer for your history teacher.

The Grump