Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: Is My Dad's Friend Creeping On Me?

Auntie SparkNotes: Is My Dad's Friend Creeping On Me?

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie Sparknotes,

I am a 19-year-old girl home on break from my first year of college. After a lot of fruitless job searching, my dad's best friend, a lawyer who is a man in his fifties (lets call him Jim), found me a good, paid internship with a friend of his. I love this internship, and the opportunities it's given me. Jim has also started paying me twenty bucks an hour to do extra work for him. Sounds great right?

Wrong. Jim makes me feel incredibly uncomfortable. But I'm not even sure if my discomfort is justified.

My family has known Jim since I was a freshman in high school. He lives down the street from us. For a long time, our relationship was fine. But a month after I turned nineteen, when I came home from college for the first time, I ran into Jim on the street. He asked me to give him a hug, so I gave him one.

However, when I started to pull away from the hug, he pulled me closer and said, "So you're an adult now."

I wasn't sure if he meant this the way it sounded, so I made an excuse about being late for something and walked away. But two weeks later, he came to my house while we were giving a home tour, and he put his arm around me while I was distracted and told the woman he had come with that I was his "girlfriend." Since then, Jim always wants to give me a hug when he comes over (and he comes over a lot). My parents have no idea that I feel this way. How do you tell your dad that the thought of being alone with his best friend in the same room makes you feel sick?

My parents are definitely into me possibly working for Jim sometime in the future. I'm freaking out. (For the record, me doing extra work for Jim was decided by my dad and Jim one day while I was out.)