Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: I Cry

Auntie SparkNotes: I Cry

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie,

I am a very sensitive person. I laugh easily, cry easily, and get mad easily. It hasn't really bothered me, until our school's academic decathlon. I was in charge of learning topography, stages of the rock cycle, and what shapes the earth's surface. I studied for NINE MONTHS with a science teacher, special science websites, and my mom. I was able to answer every question backwards and forwards when my science teacher quizzed me. I even went into overtime two weeks before the competition.

After I took the test, and waited during the awards ceremony, I didn't place first, second, or third. I placed eighteenth. Out of twenty-eight schools! I started crying and my mom had to pull me out to the parking lot so I could collect myself. Ever since then, everything's gone downhill. I cry when I get frustrated, I cry when I get mad, I cry when someone uses a tone with me. In Target, I began to cry when my mom wouldn't buy me lip balm because I ran out. I try to see both sides of an argument, but just thinking of arguments makes me cry.

Next year I am going to high school, and I really don't want to be perceived as the whiny baby who cries when she doesn't get her way. Please help me Auntie! I've tried all the tricks from counting to ten to holding my breath. The last thing I want to happen is to be seen as a crybaby.

Okay, I'll admit it: for the first two paragraphs of this letter, I was really gearing up to suggest, as gently as possible, that this sort of uber-sensitivity to the teensiest slight is really going to impact your life if you don't get a handle on it, and that doing so might require more, and more prolonged, help than I can give you in a 500-word response.

And then I got to the end, and saw how old you are, and thought, "Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh."