Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: Should I Say Something To Adults Who Are Behaving Badly?

Auntie SparkNotes: Should I Say Something To Adults Who Are Behaving Badly?

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie,
I work as a cashier, and recently I've seen customers doing things that have unsettled me and left me really confused. A woman who trains service dogs, who is a regular with her grown son and father, came in with 2 service dogs. I don't know if they're her personal service dogs or ones she's training, but I called them over to my line because I was open. Her dog barked aggressively once or twice at a smaller dog (I work at a pet supply store) so she folded up a leather leash and smacked her dog several times on the snout. Now, the nose and muzzle are incredibly sensitive for a dog, and it had to hurt a lot.

Everyone around saw her doing it and was visibly shocked, and the lady started going off to another woman whose expression she saw about how "I goddamned know what I'm doing and I've been training for 40 years!" Well, of course someone would be upset, YOU WERE JUST HITTING YOUR DOG. I just kind of stood there because I couldn't believe what I was seeing. And another time, a grandmother came in with her young grandson who apparently kept getting in their and their cart's way as I was ringing them up, and I turned around for a split second to pick up a clip board, when I heard a small smack. I didn't see it happen, but I know she hit him. Sure, I've heard people empty-threaten to smack their dogs or kids if they're misbehaving, but I've never once seen it happen before.

For both of these instances, I honestly had no idea what to do because it's not exactly something you expect to happen, and then they're out of the store before you can fully realize what just happened. Morally I know I should have said something, but I'm still confused. What should I have done? What should I do if I see it happen again?