Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: My Teacher Picks On Me

Auntie SparkNotes: My Teacher Picks On Me

By kat_rosenfield

Hey Auntie!
I’m a student in a religious morality class, and my teacher picks on me. Often she will yell at me for not having my book when I'm actually sharing my book with someone else, or she'll yell at me for my messy homework, saying that she took off points for doing it at the beginning of class even though I’d finished it the previous night. She also told me "Well, your grade is an 86, but well see what it drops to after this test.”

She often calls on me to ask my opinion, and I'm always polite, but if I disagree with her — which I think I should be allowed to do — she'll either dismiss it or twist it so it sounds like I’ve said something else. I'm also of Japanese descent, and though I have never actually been to Japan, she still talks slow to me like I don't speak English, and she asks me very stereotypical questions like if I ever did karate or if I'm good at math.

I found out I have her again next year and the way classes are set up, there's not a single other class I can move to. I want to let her know that I feel disregarded, personally attacked, and that she's treating me so much worse than everyone else. I'm very hurt, and very frustrated with this woman. Please help!

Okay, Sparkler, but first, let me answer your question with a question: namely, you want to tell your teacher that you’re hurt, frustrated, and being treated terribly by her... why? Because you think you’ll be telling her something she doesn’t already know?

Because darling, it’s not that she doesn’t know what she’s doing; it’s that she doesn’t care. This woman is perfectly aware of her own behavior—and not only that, she’d probably claim that it’s perfectly justified, because you’re a disrespectful and arrogant little twerp who disrupts class, questions her authority, and needs to be taught a lesson.