Skip over navigation

A Day in the Life of a Cake Icer

A Day in the Life of a Cake Icer

By Contributor

As you may know, I currently work as a cake decorator in a bakery in a grocery store. (Kinda. I’m a cake decorator in training. I’ll probably put in on my resume as a paid internship.) And, as I really need to pay tuition, that’s pretty much all I’m doing this summer. Seriously. This past week, I worked 48 hours, all the same shift: 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. Yay….

5:00AM: I despise my alarm clock.
5:45: Was I awake for 45 minutes and didn’t realize it?
5:58: I’m walking out the door, and the Piggly Wiggly is 3 minutes away. Not bad.
6:00: My coworkers have been here for 3 hours…  how is this legal?
6:08: My manager just cheerily wished me a good morning. Grunting, I feel, is an appropriate response.
6:24: Cookies. They are baking pans and pans of cookies. Doughnuts, too. 3 feet away from me.
6:30:  Someone just handed me a massive knife. This can’t be safe.
9:00: Data unavailable due to lack of memory. Diagnosis: this is all a dream. Within a dream. Like Inception.
9:45: Crap. I frosted and decorated 16 (VERY SMALL) Oreo tortes in almost 4 hours. There are 25 full-sized sheet cakes to be finished by the weekend.  I guess it’s time to actually work now.
10:09: Note to all graduating seniors: learn how to bake your own cakes. I hate you all.
10:30: The past 4-ish hours were a blur, but I guess I’ve earned a break? Salami sandwich, here I come…
10:52: You’d think that, after smelling cookies all morning, I’d want one,  but nothing sounds more unappealing. The first casualty of working in a bakery is that you lose all appetite for baked goods. Which I guess is ideal if you’re trying to lose weight, but if you had previously enjoyed baked goods as much as I did, it’s fairly depressing.