Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: My Mom Thinks My Boyfriend Isn't Smart Enough For Me

Auntie SparkNotes: My Mom Thinks My Boyfriend Isn't Smart Enough For Me

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie,

I (of course) have been having a problem and am desperately seeking your advice here. I have been dating this guy for 9 months now, and I have been very happy throughout this entire relationship. He's my best friend, my confidant, and he just makes me really happy every time we're together. Our personalities are really similar, and when we disagree, we always work it out. So the problem is not us, it's... My mom.

Let me explain. I am an honors student. Or more like an above honors student. I have a really high ACT score , a 4.0, I'm taking several AP classes and other honors classes. However, my boyfriend is not taking any AP's, his ACTs are not close to mine (he's a really bad test-taker), and he has some B's. So, my mom keeps making comments about how he's not quite "smart" enough for me.

She's always saying things like, "Oh, he's just average," or "I like you with really smart guys, like (insert name here). Why don't you date (insert name here.)" or even "For future reference, your children's intelligence is based upon that of both the parents." She acts like she doesn't approve of my boyfriend all the time. As I said, I'm really happy in this relationship, and I plan on staying with him for a long time. So how do I get my mom to stop with her rude comments and accept my wonderful boyfriend for who he is?

You tell her to shut her stupid face, that’s how!

Er... diplomatically, of course, and not in so many words.