Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: My Friends Ask To Cheat Off My Work

Auntie SparkNotes: My Friends Ask To Cheat Off My Work

By kat_rosenfield

Dearest Auntie,
I was hoping you could offer some advice on how to handle a recurring conundrum of mine. I'm a fairly good student and as a result of this my friends often end up asking to copy or cheat off of my work. It seems like a no-brainer, right? Just say no.

But in the confusing world that is high school, I find it hard to say no without seeming like a bad friend. So many people just expect me to say yes. I generally pride myself on my principles, but can never bring myself to stick to my principles on this front. I was hoping you maybe had some quick retorts or responses to allow me to keep a clean conscience and avoid any awkward moments with friends.

Quick retorts? Why yes, I have many a quick retort for just this occasion! And the next time someone says, “Hey, can I copy your homework?”, I encourage you to...

a) ...say, “Thanks, but I’m trying to quit.”
b) ...reply, “Oh sure! I just love working my ass off so that my lazy friends never have to!”
c) ...turn around, give them a look full of sass and madness, and say, “I don’t know! Can a woodchuck mate with a hamburger?”—followed by maniacal laughing and a wild double display of finger guns. Which will not only allow you to exit the situation with your principles intact, but will also preclude any future requests for homework-copying, because nobody wants to cheat off the mentally deranged.

And there you go! Case closed! Just as you requested: snappy retorts that allow you to keep a clean conscience and avoid any awk—

Oh. Right. So, uh, forget everything I just said.