Skip over navigation

Ask a Teacher: From Bookworm to Social Butterfly

Ask a Teacher: From Bookworm to Social Butterfly

By Mr. Foss

Q: I used to be a straight-A student (and very shy) during my freshman year. But now I am a sophomore and I am falling behind. I'm not as shy as I was before, does this mean I have to go back to hiding in a shell to get my grades up?

A: First, congratulations on coming out of your shell! Overcoming shyness is often very difficult, but the rewards are pretty great. As you've learned, though, those rewards come with a price. I'll tell you right off the bat that you absolutely don't have to hide away again to get your grades up. Instead, you just have to surpass one of the most difficult obstacles facing every young adult.

You have to learn time management.

There are only 24 hours in a day, and to be a healthy teenager, you should spend about one-third of that time (if not a little more) sleeping. School accounts for another eight hours or so, leaving only eight hours per weekday for homework, extracurriculars, jobs, eating, hobbies, and a social life. That is a shockingly small amount of time, especially when you're out having fun and not necessarily paying attention to the demands of the clock.

Here's the wrong way to do things: throw the clock out entirely, figure "I'll get everything done," and let some aspects of your life flourish at the expense of others. That's the strategy of your peers who get top-notch grades and show up to every practice for a dozen extracurriculars but sleep through half their classes, or your peers who go to a different party every night and don't seem to care when they're repeating freshman English for a third time.