Skip over navigation

Forks, Washington, and What I Found There

Forks, Washington, and What I Found There

By Contributor

Liz_Nash braved brotherly disdain, flammable hardware, and the rabid Twihards of Forks, Washington, all to bring us this awesome post. –Sparkitors

“Liz, do you want to go to Forks?” Now there’s something I never expected to hear.

As it turns out, my parents felt a little guilty about accidentally catching my Mac on fire (true story). They offered to extend our Vancouver/Seattle vacation so that we could see the one and only Forks. I jumped at the chance, considering that, as a university student, I like to spend my parents’ money as much as possible.

Bella didn’t lie about Forks being isolated; it’s about twenty miles from the middle of nowhere. Since we didn’t have Edward’s homicidal-yet-adorable driving ability, it took us a long time to get there from Seattle. Heck, my brother, Tyler, practically grew a beard during the drive.

Speaking of Tyler, he’s a twenty-something grad student whose idea of a good time is not, surprisingly, debating the pros and cons of Edward vs. Jacob. He definitely expected a “WELCOME TO THE ETERNAL FLAMES OF HELL” sign to greet us on our arrival.

When we actually got to Forks, I expected emotionally vulnerable and slightly deranged girls to be running around chanting Edward’s name. I did, in fact, find people doing basically that—except they were 50-year-old men. I heard a guy who looked like he would happily murder me in my sleep quoting the book to his (also male) friend.

At one point, my family stumbled into a diner and asked how many people in Forks that day were tourists. “Pretty much everyone,” the waitress said, twirling a knife that, had she let go, would’ve taken my eye out. “Forks has three things: Trees, pies, and vampires.” Well, she had me at pies.