Skip over navigation

Auntie SparkNotes: Passion Play

Auntie SparkNotes: Passion Play

By kat_rosenfield

Dear Auntie,

There are two things you need to know about me.

One: I love love love to sing. I'm extremely passionate about it -- in choir class I'm a section leader, and I take private voice lessons.

Two: I'm a straight-A student, first in my class of 625, and I don't plan on changing that anytime soon.

We've just started registering for our classes next year, and those two qualities of myself have run into a bit of a conflict. Our school is switching from a six-period to a seven-period day next year, but we're still able to take seven classes if we come in early for a "0" hour. My six classes are filled with courses I *have* to take, but my zero hour is still up for grabs. Obviously, I'd LOVE to continue with choir. However, our school has a college-level accounting class that I'm seriously considering. While the idea of accounting doesn't exactly thrill me, it is a weighted class- which means it's worth a 4.4 on my GPA (assuming I get an A)! This could seriously help me to lock in my class standing. And while we're on the GPA subject, taking an unweighted 0 hour course (like choir) actually *hurts * my GPA- which would most certainly bring down my rank.

I have a passion for choir, but I'm not sure if my GPA could handle three years of it. And my class rank is important to me, too- not just for college's sake, but because I genuinely love the feeling of accomplishment I get from knowing I've done my best. If I don't take accounting, I'll feel like I haven't really tried to challenge myself. However, if I don't take choir, I'll feel like I've given up something I really, really love.

So, which is more important- my passion for singing, or my passion for challenging myself? What would you do if you were me?