Skip over navigation

How to Make the Most Out of Community College

How to Make the Most Out of Community College

By Contributor

We think Sparkler BeauYouKnow deserves a full ride to NYU. (Yes, NYU, so she can stop by and say hi!) —SparkNotes editors

I am, and always have been, an excellent student: I've conquered AP and Honors courses, been in clubs, tutored kids at a local junior high, and more. Yet I knew I was going to a community college when I graduated.

My family makes just enough money for me not to qualify for financial aid, and I didn’t take quuuiiiiiiite enough AP History classes (I stuck to advanced English and math courses) to beat out super overachievers in my grade for scholarships. Luckily, my town has an excellent community college, and I plan to transfer to a four-year after two years.

Most of my friends, however, were admitted into fantastic schools—they go to UC Berkeley, UCLA, UCSB, and other far-away, amazing places. But you won't find me down in the dumps for missing out on the traditional "college experience." I think living at home can actually be pretty sweet if you know how to take advantage of it:

1. Use the fitness center.
My school has a fitness center with cardio machines and weights, and it’s all free if you are a student. It’s like having your own gym membership without the fees. My best friend and I often meet up and work out together. And since community college is small, that cute guy from your English class can admire you sweating intensely on the elliptical trainer while you listen to your iPod and pretend to be on American Idol. (If he didn’t want to sit next to you before, he’ll DEFINITELY stay away now.)

2. Make things for your away-friends with your extra time.